Advisory Board

Susan Goldman – Professor


James Pellegrino

Jim PellegrinoJames W. Pellegrino is Liberal Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Professor of Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He also serves as Co-director of UIC’s interdisciplinary Learning Sciences Research Institute. His research and development interests focus on children’s and adult’s thinking and learning and the implications of cognitive research and theory for assessment and instructional practice. He has published over 300 books, chapters and articles in the areas of cognition, instruction and assessment. His current research is funded by the National Science Foundation and the Institute of Education Sciences. He has served as head of several National Academy of Sciences study committees, including co-chair of the Committee on Learning Research and Educational Practice, and co-chair of the Committee on the Foundations of Assessment which issued the report Knowing What Students Know: The Science and Design of Educational Assessment. Most recently he served as a member of the Committee on Science Learning: Games, Simulations and Education, as chair of the Committee on Defining Deeper Learning and 21st Century Skills, and co-chair of the Committee on Developing Assessments of Science Proficiency in K-12. He is a past member of the Board on Testing and Assessment of the National Research Council and a lifetime member of the National Academy of Education. He currently serves on the Technical Advisory Committees (TAC) of several states as well as the TACs of the SBAC, PARCC, DLM, and NCSC consortia of states funded under the USDOE Race to the Top assessment initiative.

Roger Weissberg

Picture of Roger WeissbergRoger P. Weissberg is NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning and University/LAS Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He is also Chief Knowledge Officer of the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL), an organization committed to making evidence-based social and emotional academic learning an essential part of education. Weissberg has authored 250 publications focusing on preventive interventions with children. He has received several awards including: the American Psychological Association’s Distinguished Contribution Award for Applications of Psychology to Education and Training, the Society for Community Research and Action’s Distinguished Contribution to Theory and Research Award, and the “Daring Dozen” award from the George Lucas Educational Foundation for being 1 of 12 people who are reshaping the future of education. In 2013, he was elected to the National Academy of Education for contributions to education research and policy.


Ex-Officio Members:

Renee Taylor – Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Professor

Maria Varelas – Director of the TLC and Professor

Suresh Aggarwal – Chair of  TERC and Professor

Valerie Prater – Chair of ITGC-Education Subcommittee